Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Print
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) New/Refurbished Turn Signal Switch (Read 1212 times)

JonL
Project Jeep

Still Plays With Jeeps

New/Refurbished Turn Signal Switch
02/10/18 at 17:53:16
Print Post  
I am just testing the waters here, guys.

I am restoring my grandfather's old '49 CJ3A. I am wanting to add turn signals, but don't want to add front turn signal lights or have to modify existing front parking lights.  I have spent months on forums and blogs, reading post after post, reviewing mods and diagrams, etc. I finally got my hands on several different vintage turn signal switches and tore them down to do some research.  First off, I am an industrial controls electrician, so I was able to delve into the functionality of the inner components without much trouble.  Interestingly enough, I was able to find one model that allows me to do exactly what I wanted.  I also found that I can modify other models to do the same thing.  I now have switches that allow the front factory single-filament parking lights to function as both parking and turn signal lights.  All that is required is running a separate wire to each front light (basically, just running one extra wire), and a separate wire to the brake lead of each taillight.  Or just purchasing a wiring harness equipped with turn signal leads.
My question here is, would anybody be interested in buying these switches if I started doing the modifications, installing new wire leads, and basically refurbishing the units to sell as a complete kit....including a flasher relay and mounting hardware?  I know I would have definitely jumped at the chance to buy one several months ago, when I first started this journey.